Friday, December 26, 2014

Her Christmas Bonus by Rain Danvers

Her Christmas Bonus

Synopsis via Miss Danvers website:

Sage has been working at a high-tech firm in Newport Beach, CA for over two years as the only female director among three men. She is highly valued by her boss and she loves her job, but there’s a problem – she’s totally attracted to him and the stress is killing her. She’s taking three days off for the Christmas holiday and has posted her availability online, hoping to find a job when she returns. Before she can leave, she has to find her cell phone and she doesn’t know where she left it.

Terrance is the founder and owner of Templeton Designs and considers Sage so valuable to the company, he can’t afford to acknowledge the feelings he has for her. He’s stuck at the company this year when normally he would be enjoying the holiday in a warm, tropical location. It may be the year he finds a way to acknowledge the woman who holds his heart captive.

A highly successful business woman with the hots for her boss. A successful business man who always gets what he wants. When Terrance finally goes after the one woman he wants, he is relentless, yet understanding. Miss Danvers has created a main character who is a gentleman and a man who knows what he wants. In Sage, she has created a woman who is unwilling to compromise her position at work just for a man she desires. 
While this is a short story, Miss Danvers did her best to develop her characters. Unfortunately, while Sage was well developed, Terrance wasn't developed very well. She jumps into the plot quickly and escalates the romance between the two characters and then, BOOM!- story is over. I guess you could say it lacked foreplay. 
While this is a story about romance, it is also a story of sticking to one's beliefs. There are a few moments when the characters could have sex, but the story steers away from them jumping into bed. For me, it felt like reading a Christian romance without the preaching. 

Happy Reading!

A Curvy Coldwater Christmas by Jenn Roseton

A Curvy Coldwater Christmas (Coldwater Springs #5)

Synopsis via Goodreads:

When Kate is asked by her friend, Sarah McCord, to appear as Mrs. Claus in the Coldwater Springs Christmas parade, she doesn’t know what to think! After all, she’s only twenty-nine. And although she has a very curvy figure, she’s not matronly and gray-haired - yet. 

But when she finds out that the hunky guy she’s admired for the last few months, Flynn Winters, will play opposite her as Santa, she’s glad she agreed to take part. Especially when the script calls for them to kiss …. 

This story interested me because Miss Roseton went outside the norm. This is a story where the main character isn't the typical size -2 woman, totally confident in herself, and ready to take on the world. To me, Kate is more like "us". She is a curvy lady, kinda shy, but willing to try new things. And then there is Flynn. Flynn is the typical "love story hottie". He has muscle, looks, but he doesn't ignore curves for a tall, thin, goddess like most romance leading men do.

This is a novelette, as Miss Roseton describes it. There isn't a whole lot of build up or back story. The meat of the story is Kate and Flynn are asked to be Santa Claus and Mrs. Claus for the holiday parade and that is where the story begins.

What I liked: As I said already, the lead female is outside the norm, the lead male is a hottie, and the curvy lady doesn't get left out in the cold. It is a feel good story without a lot of "action" of any kind.

What I didn't like: There was no "action" of any kind except kissing. No heavy make out sessions that get stopped before the characters go too far, very little conversation between ANY characters, and there is only Kate's point of view until the prologue.
I understand it is a novelette (though I think I missed that description when I ordered the book), but there is so much more that can be done with this story. I understand it is a part of the Coldwater Springs Series, but can be read as a stand alone story. I do not know if Miss Roseton is planning on expanding Kate and Flynn's story in another of her books, but I would definitely be interested to see how she expands their story.

It was a decent read, but climaxed and fell way to quickly for my taste. I was expecting more from this story.

Happy Reading!

Sunday, December 14, 2014

Guardians Book 1: The Girl by Lola St. Vil

Product Details

Synopsis via Miss St. Vil's website:

The prophecy says I will fall in love with team leader and Angel, Marcus Cane. The prophecy also says that our love will cause his mission to fail and end the world.


This human is not worried. Why?
Because I do not intend to fall in love with Marcus.

The truth is I hate him. I hate his warm brown eyes with flecks of gold, his chiseled face and broad shoulders.
I hate how over protective he is just because a few thousand demons are after me.

In fact, I couldn't care less about Marcus or his perfect telekinetic girlfriend.
And when I see him holding her, I don’t die a little inside…

This story is a very captivating story. Angels, demons, humans without a clue-supernatural at it's best!
Emmy, a 15 year old high school student who lives with her mom has her world turned upside down when she finds out she is the key to saving humanity. She goes from having a limited number of friends to being protected by a group of angels. Her life suddenly goes from sedate and boring to fast and frenzied.
Miss St. Vil introduces you to each character with deliberate care. To me it seems like to wants the reader to learn about each character individually instead of grouping them all together where it is easy to lose the significance of each character.
I loved this story! I fell in love with Emmy, Marcus, Miku, Rio, Jay, and Reese. Each character is so well developed that you can't help but get involved in their "lives". And she did such a great job that I quickly learned to dislike Meana and the Akons.
Miss St. Vil knows how to pull your emotions along with the characters. I found myself being angry, feeling hurt, frustration, as well as happiness. It takes a truly talented writer to be able to wrangle all those emotions out of the reader.
This is the first book in her Guardian Series. It is an awesome read and just happens to be free on Amazon, B & N Nook, and iTunes at this time. You have nothing to lose by downloading this story, but I am guessing you will be like me and will be looking into the rest of the series!

I pick this as a DEFINITE READ!!

Happy Reading!!

Saturday, December 6, 2014

Married for Christmas (Willow Park Book 1) by Noelle Adams

Married for Christmas (Willow Park, #1)

Synopsis via Goodreads:

After years of dreaming, Jessica is finally getting married, but the marriage isn't exactly what she thought.

Daniel is her best friend, and she's known him all her life, but he's never gotten over losing his wife two years ago. His dream is to become the pastor of the church in their hometown, but the small-town congregation keeps balking over calling an unmarried minister. Since Daniel needs a wife and Jessica wants a husband and family, she proposes an arrangement that benefits both of them.

They can get married. They can build a life together. They can celebrate Christmas as a couple. It's fine that he doesn't love her. And it's fine that she's not exactly suited to be a small-town pastor's wife. And it's fine that she's more attracted to her sexy, brooding husband every day.

Jessica can be practical about this marriage. She knows what she's getting into, after all...

I really liked this story. It had so many angles going on at the same time. It has a religious undertone, but does not get preachy or condescending. Miss Adams prefaces her book with this:

   "The Hero of this book is a pastor, but this is not an inspirational romance. It is a regular contemporary romance featuring characters who happen to be religious. Spiritually is an important aspect of the human experience and the lives of a lot of people. . ."

Jessica and Daniel both have a specific goal and Jessica has the perfect solution-get married. They are already friends and have known each other all their lives so it seems logical, right?
Jessica and Daniel are both very likable characters. Miss Adams develops them throughout the story. You get to know them little by little as their story unfolds. This may seem like it slows the story down but it is quite the contrary. As their relationship builds, you learn new things about each of them. As you learn these things, Miss Adams brings in the back story of why they behave as they do. You don't get bogged down with their full past. You are pulled along in their present to see how their life is progressing.
While I think the average person would not go into a marriage based on friendship (I may be too much of a romantic), the relationship after the marriage is one that most people can relate to. They have their arguments, anger, sentimental moments, and hot, sexy moments.
Daniel my be a pastor, but he isn't a perfect, super-religious pastor. Daniel is a down-to-earth male who believes in God but enjoys life. And Jessica is a realistic young lady just looking for a family.
I found myself hoping this sweet couple would make it.
This is a terrific story that is worth your time and money. It is a dose of reality in a contemporary romance.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Happy Holidays!

Saturday, November 29, 2014

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers (His Fair Assassin Book 1)

Synopsis via

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart.

     Miss LaFevers describes His Fair Assassin series as her "YA books about assassin nuns in medieval France". And if that doesn't pull you in, it is full of intrigue, murder, and self discovery. Don't let the "YA" scare you away. It is strong on plot, character development, and plenty to keep you intellectually engrossed.
     When I read the synopsis, I didn't realize it was set in medieval times. I was actually expecting a fantasy setting. But I was so engrossed in the story that I didn't realize it wasn't what I expected until I was halfway through the book.
     Ismae is a young girl dealt a very difficult life. But with the kindness of one person, her whole life is turned around. No, she is not placed into a life of luxury, but she is taught that she is not worthless and she has much to offer the right people. In this case "assassin nuns" (it sounds so funny and weird to call nuns assassins). She is taken in by nuns who serve the God of Death-St. Mortain. They teach her that she has gifts bestowed upon her by St. Mortain; her gift is a very rare gift.
     She is thrust into a world of politics, subterfuge, and betrayal. It is here that she learns who and what she truly is.
     I had difficulty putting this book down. I have to admit, I got annoyed whenever something interrupted my reading: the dogs going in and out, my son wanting to show me something, my husband wanting to tell me about his day, and the worst one: having to go to work! So, when you start reading this book, make sure you are left alone or seclude yourself. You will find yourself engrossed in medieval France with assassin nuns!

I received this book free in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Miss LaFevers and Houghton Mifflin Books for this opportunity.

Happy Reading!!

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Curse Defiers (Curse Keepers #3) by Denise Grover Swank

The Curse Defiers

Synopsis via Goodreads:

For centuries the gods have waited—for the betrayal that will release them, for the traitors who will defend them, for the warrior who will challenge them. Now at long last the gate between the human and spirit worlds is open, and with it, an army of vengeful demons poised to swarm the earth. Only the Curse Keepers, Ellie Lancaster and Collin Dailey, can stop it…if they can break free from a tangled web of treachery, jealousy, and lies.

Torn between two men—her heart belongs to David, yet her soul is bound to Collin’s—Ellie no longer knows who she can trust. Demons slipping through the gate are leaving a trail of bodies in their wake, each death a chilling reminder of the power of the ancient spirits to bring humanity to its knees. Faced with an unimaginable future, Ellie realizes the time has come to turn her back on prophecy and choose her own destiny—even if it means defying the gods themselves.

Miss Swank has hit a home run yet again with the third book in the Curse Keepers Trilogy! It was so easy to get right back into the story. It was as if I had just finished The Curse Breakers. Ellie's story is more compelling than ever. The relationship between Ellie, Collin, and David is more convoluted then ever. Miss Swank is a master at weaving together all the intricate details and emotions that make this story such a resounding success.
It is very easy to fall into Ellie's character and "feel" all of her fears, frustrations, concerns, guilt, and love that are continuously flowing in and out of the complex character. Yet at the same time it is also easy to step back and watch the whole picture unfold before you.
For me, reading The Curse Defiers was interesting and intellectually challenging. Yes, I know that sounds funny, but it is true. Trying to figure out who is going after Ellie, who is telling the truth, and who is lying is quite a work out for the brain. While this is not considered a mystery book, Miss Swank has added that element to the plot. She will dangle a piece of evidence here, another piece there and the next thing you know you will be making predictions and guessing about which way Ellie will go, not to mention WHO will Ellie choose? Is Collin her true soul mate or is David the love of her life (and how long will she be alive)?

The Curse Defiers is a wonderful book. I loved every minute of reading. It has a perfect mixture of action vs. chill time.This is definitely a MUST READ BOOK especially if you have read the first 2 books. If you haven't, you need to get out and get all three and plan on staying in for the weekend!

Happy Reading.

P.S. Thank you for your patience waiting for me to post this review. Things at home and work have been a bit challenging lately.

Sunday, November 16, 2014

Tree of Water by Elizabeth Haydon BLOG TOUR

The Tree of Water

WELCOME TO THE TREE OF WATER BLOG TOUR! Follow the tour Nov. 17-21 using #TheTreeofWaterTour

Read to the bottom for a chance to win a copy!

Tree of Water by Elizabeth Haydon

Synopsis via Macmillan Publisher's:

The epic voyages continue in The Tree of Water, the fourth adventure in bestselling author Elizabeth Haydon’s acclaimed fantasy series for young readers, The Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme.
As Royal Reporter of the land of Serendair, it is the duty of young Charles Magnus "Ven" Polypheme to travel the world and seek out magic hiding in plain sight. But Ven needs to escape the clutches of the nefarious Thief Queen, ruler of the Gated City, whose minions are hunting for him. His friend, the merrow Amariel, has the perfect solution to his dilemma: Ven and Char will join her to explore the world beneath the sea.
As they journey through the sea, Ven finds himself surrounded by wonders greater than he could have ever imagined. But the beauty of the ocean is more than matched by the dangers lurking within its depths, and Ven and his friends soon realize that in order to save thousands of innocent lives, they may have to sacrifice their own. For everything in the ocean needs to eat…

This book was my introduction to Miss Haydon and her delightful world of Ven and his adventures. I was concerned that I would get lost in the backstory since I had not read the three previous books in the series. I am happy to say that I had no difficulties with understanding the story. Miss Haydon has done an excellent job of penning the fourth adventure in a series that incorporates points from past adventures yet can stand alone and engross the reader.

This adventure finds Ven and Char swimming through the sea with Ven's merrow friend, Amerial.
Miss Haydon's vivid description of the underwater marvel takes the reader to a whole new world. Ven, Char, and Amerial find themselves in one scrape after another. Their adventures unfold under the water, not above.

Each character is well developed and they evolve before the reader's eyes. The depth that Miss Haydon goes into each character draws the reader into the story. As each scrape, every danger, and all the arguments unfold, that is when the reader is introduced to the characters' evolutions.

The adventures the reader is drawn into are creative, edge-of-your-seat exciting, and magical. As an adult I was once again reminded of how magical the world around me could be. Ven's world is close enough to mine to be familiar yet different enough to be exciting and new.

I had a difficult time putting this book down. My son finished reading the story in 2 days. I enjoyed reading about Ven's latest adventure so much that I am excited to read his other adventures. And as a bonus, this is a series that my son and I can bond over.

Win your own copy of Tree of Water: (Limited to US and Canadian readers, including young readers)
1) reply to this post telling me what kind of adventure you would like to have if you would like to share your adventure. It can be real or use your imagination.
 2) if you would prefer not too share please e-mail me at for a chance to win.

 I will pick one lucky reader at random on Nov.22

Let's see what Miss Haydon has to say: (If you would like to read more of the interview with Miss Haydon, please e-mail me at

Interview with Elizabeth Haydon, 
documentarian, archanologist and translator of Ven’s 
journals, including The Tree of Water
Little is known for sure about reclusive documentarian and archanologist Elizabeth
She is an expert in dead languages and holds advanced degrees in Nain Studies from
Arcana College and Lirin History from the University of Rigamarole. Her fluency in those
languages [Nain and Lirin] has led some to speculate that she may be descended of one
of those races herself. It should be noted that no one knows this for sure.
Being an archanologist, she is also an expert in ancient magic because, well, that’s what
an archanologist is.

What do you hope readers take away from this book?
I hope, in general, that it will open their eyes to the wonder of the sea, which
takes up the majority of our planet, but we really don’t know that much about it
down deep. There is a great deal of magic in the sea, and I hope that if and when
people become aware of it, they will help take care of it and not throw garbage
and other bad stuff into it. I have a serious dislike for garbage-throwing.
Probably the most useful secret I learned that I hope will be of use to readers is
about thrum. Thrum is the way the creatures and plants that live in the ocean
communicate with each other through vibration and thought. As Ven and his
friends learn, this can be a problem if you think about something you don’t want
anyone to know about when you are standing in a sunshadow, because
everyone gets to see a picture of what’s on your mind. Imagine how embarrassing that could be.

Bad Boy Christmas Box Set by Cheyenne McCray

book cover of 

Bad Boy Christmas

This set contains four short holiday stories that will make your bells jingle.
Intended for ages 18 and older.

Stranger in My Stocking
Alyson Charmaine is stuck in a posh hotel when a blizzard hits New York City. When she spots a delicious specimen of a man, her mind goes into overdrive, thinking of all the things she'd like to do with him that would put her on Santa's naughty list. Too bad he's a stranger. 

Greg Ellington wishes he'd had the chance to meet the sexy blonde in the hotel's lounge, but she disappeared before he gets the chance. But when he goes up to his hotel room, his wish comes true, all giftwrapped just for him.  

Fireman Beneath the Mistletoe
Kate Reynolds is a fashion designer whose sexy designs have been selected for a holiday fashion show. The show is being held at an exclusive ladies' club where erotic things are rumored to go on behind closed doors. 

Nick Hall is fresh off fighting a fire for the FDNY, but finds something waiting for him at his off hours side job at TLC. The sexy Kate Reynolds is hotter than anything he's fought in a long time, hot enough to melt the snow outside, and sweet enough to kiss beneath the mistletoe.

Seal Giftwrapped with a Bow
Janie Taylor has proven herself time after time to be of value to Brick's team but the mountain of a man refuses to let her join in on a private op that takes them to the jungle of South America. 

Navy SEAL Brick Sanders's nephew has been kidnapped, and Brick intends to get the boy home in time for Christmas. It's a personal op and he doesn't want Janie getting hurt. If his team refuses to let him go this op alone, the least he can do is protect Janie. His nephew isn't the only one he wants to get back to New York City before Christmas. 

Visitor Under My Holiday Tree
Dayanara Acosta can't believe she burned up her kitchen - while looking at men's profiles on a dating site, no less. It's a wonder the whole apartment complex didn't burn down. So many treasures had been lost in the kitchen fire that it was heartbreaking. 

When Ramón Salvador's brother told him about Daya, Ramón couldn't believe she would be the one to heal his heartbreak over the woman he'd lost so long ago. 

Ramón agrees to deliver a special basket from the Angels of Mercy to Daya on Christmas Eve, and finds her to be everything his brother had promised and more. Daya can't believe the way this visitor makes her feel - or how her body responds to him as he takes her beneath the Christmas tree. 

Miss McCray is known for writing stories that are SO HOT, that you need water next to you in case your book catches fire. Well, she has delivered again!
While each story is different, they all include a hot, musclebound, intelligent hunk of man and a hot, sexy, intelligent woman who knows what she wants.
I enjoyed that each story was shorter than a full length novel. It gave me the chance to break up my reading into smaller time allotments. But even though each story was short didn't mean it was short on story development. Quite the contrary. I thought that because she had to put so much into a smaller space, she cranked up the character development, the story line, as well as the heat!
Do you like a book with a heat factor so high, you want to grab your husband's/wife's/significant other's/partner's hand and drag them to the bedroom? Well these 4 stories will definitely take care of that!
This set is also a great idea for a stocking stuffer!!

Happy Reading!!

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Hello From the Gillespies by Monica McInerney

Hello From the Gillespies

Synopsis from Goodreads:

For the past thirty-three years, Angela Gillespie has sent to friends and family around the world an end-of-the-year letter titled “Hello from the Gillespies.” It’s always been cheery and full of good news. This year, Angela surprises herself—she tells the truth....

The Gillespies are far from the perfect family that Angela has made them out to be. Her husband is coping badly with retirement. Her thirty-two-year-old twins are having career meltdowns. Her third daughter, badly in debt, can’t stop crying. And her ten-year-old son spends more time talking to his imaginary friend than to real ones.

Without Angela, the family would fall apart. But when a bump on the head leaves Angela with temporary amnesia, the Gillespies pull together—and pull themselves together—in wonderfully surprising ways.

What family doesn't have it's ups and downs? What mother doesn't feel taken for granted? What marriage doesn't have a lull in the romance, especially after 20 + years?
Hello From the Gillespies is a poignant story about the truth of family, a mother's feelings, and forever love. Miss McInerney has created a story that could be based on any family. She has written about that letter that breaks down each family member's year. An annual undertaking. For some a family tradition, and for others an addiction, and for others-a dreaded occurrence. But what Miss McInerney does is takes this letter to a whole new level. What happens if the truth is told instead of the embellishment that most of her recipients expect?
Angela's love for her four children is apparent, yet she expresses her concerns for each child that exposes embarrassing secrets about each child. And her relationship with her husband of 30 years is not as ideal as most would think. But what happens when Angela puts her honest thoughts on paper? While nothing she writes is supposed to be sent out to her yearly recipients, the letter accidentally gets e-mailed to everyone.
I laughed, I cried, I became frustrated, and I felt sad for all the characters in this story. Miss McInerney does a wonderful job of pulling out the realism of the family in this story. You will feel yourself pulled into the family dynamics. You will feel like you are a part of this family as they go through this eye-opening time in their life. You will come out at the end of this story feeling like you climbed a mountain of emotions and conquered that mountain and came out stronger.

I loved this story and highly encourage you to delve into this book to see how a family can overcome anything as long as they pull together and hold on to the love that binds them.

Happy Reading!!

Sunday, October 12, 2014

Spectrum by Alan Jacobson


Description via Goodreads:

New York City: home to world-renowned museums, theater, restaurants, iconic sports franchises. Central Park. Wall Street. And an infamous serial killer who's terrorized the Big Apple for decades.The year is 1995 and the NYPD has just graduated a promising new patrol officer named Karen Vail. The rookie's first day on the job is anything but easy when she finds herself at the crime scene of a young woman murdered in an unusual manner. Vail is unsure of what she's looking at or what it means--but it's a case that will weigh on her mind for nearly twenty years.As the years pass, Vail's career takes unexpected twists and turns--as does the case that's come to be known as Hades. Now a skilled FBI profiler, will Vail be in a better position to catch the killer? Or will Hades prove to be Karen Vail's hell on earth?The character who has captivated readers worldwide--and who won the praise of literary giants Michael Connelly, James Patterson, and Nelson DeMille--returns in a story that captures the experiences that shaped the revered profiler and made her the top cop she is today.

Spectrum is the 6th book in the Karen Vail series. Karen Vail is a woman police officer on the NYPD in the mid '90s. She has just graduated from the academy and is bringing fresh ideas to the job-much to the dismay of most of the male cops. For them, it is bad enough that she's a woman, but add to the fact that she is smart and refuses to fit into the stereotype of the female cop.
This story, along with the other 5 Karen Vail stories, is based on experiences of a real profiler and "top cop". Mr Jacobson has successfully taken a person and used her experiences to create a character and story lines that celebrate the intelligence and success of a woman.
Spectrum is a story that pendulates between the past and present. It tells the story of the criminal as well as the criminologists. It is rich in details and a perfect reference for anyone interested in researching for a life as an investigator in law enforcement.
If you enjoy police thrillers, this is definitely a book for you!

Happy Reading!!

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Nora Bonesteel's Christmas Past by Sharyn McCrumb

Nora Bonesteel's Christmas Past: A Ballad Novella

I am so happy you are joining me!

Please read my review and then read to the end to find out how you can win a copy of your own!

Description via Goodreads:

When someone buys the old Honeycutt house, Nora Bonesteel is glad to see some life brought back to the old mansion, even if it is by summer people. But when they decide to stay through Christmas, they find more than old memories in the walls. On Christmas Eve, Sheriff Spencer Arrowwood and Deputy Joe LeDonne find themselves on an unwelcome call to arrest an elderly man for a minor offense. As they attempt to do their duty, while doing the right thing for a neighbor, it begins to look like they may all spend Christmas away from home. In a story of spirits, memories, and angels unaware, Sharyn McCrumb revisits her most loved characters who know there is more to this world than the eye can see, especially at Christmastime.

Nora Bonesteel's Christmas Past is a nostalgic look at what Christmas used to be and what it can be again.
This is actually two stories told together. Miss McCrumb goes back and forth between the two stories. One is about an old house with a special Christmas spirit. The other story is about two police officers on the road out to do their duty on Christmas eve. A duty that neither are happy to do so close to Christmas. Miss McCrumb shows how the past can be so much a part of the present, and how important it is to believe in Christmas Angels.
I really enjoyed this story. It has somewhat of a mystery vibe, but draws you into the having a little of the Christmas spirit sooner than you might normally feel it. Both stories engage the reader with simple down home characters and a lifestyle a little slower and less stressful than we tend to find in the majority of towns these days. The reader is pulled back into the past, only to be brought back to the present and the realities that face a lot of those around us.
So, take a day, get a warm cup of tea or coffee, sit in front of a beautiful backdrop, let your cat curl up in your lap, put your phones on silent and let yourself get lost in the Christmas season with Nora, Sheriff Arrowwood, and Deputy LeDonne.

So, how about a copy of Nora Bonesteel's  Christmas Past to curl up with? I have graciously been given one copy to giveaway in celebration of Sharyn McCrumb's release.
In the spirit of the coming holidays and keeping with Miss McCrumb's story, post in the comments on my blog page your favorite memory of Christmas. It can be from your childhood, after you were first married, or with your beautiful, yet hilarious children. It can be moving or funny. On Monday Oct. 13, I will pick a winner at random from the entries in my comments.

So, in the meantime: HAPPY READING!!

Yours to Uncover ES Siren 1 by Mel Tescho

Yours to Uncover (ES Siren, #1)

Description via Goodreads:

Is she willing to sacrifice everything to keep her secret and her lover safe?

It's the year 2202. Earth is grossly overpopulated and seriously polluted. Rita Songworth has spent half her twenty-two years trying to escape the dying planet. It's taken the last five of those years to realize making it in the hard-ass infantry is her only way out, via space transporter Earth Ship Siren.

But the journey to Unity, the new colony, isn't easy. Rita has to resist an attraction to hard, brutish prisoner, Tristan MacFallan, whose masterful hands create more than the beautiful art he's been assigned to make. His forbidden touch affects her profoundly and he sees things in her no man ever has before. But obeying Zane, her ex-lover and malicious lieutenant, who is appointed to keeping the prisoners under guard, comes at a high price. Is she willing to sacrifice everything to keep her secret and her lover safe?

This book sounded very interesting to me. I mean, how can a person who loves Star Trek. Star Wars and romance novels pass up a story that takes place in space with a romance attached? Not me! I eagerly sunk my teeth into the story and devoured it as fast as I could. I loved the fact that the main character was a strong female. . . or was she? This is where it got a little confusing. Rita is a high ranking soldier in the security division, yet she has attached herself to an officer for protection? And then as the story progresses she is tough one minute and a cowering female the next? I really wanted to like her, but I felt myself starting to lose respect for her.
Then there is Zane. Miss Tescho did a super job developing Zane's character. There is NO WAY any one could ever like him! She knows exactly how to create a total slime bag!
Okay, then there is Tristan. Ahhh, Miss Tescho's description leaves you drooling on your tablet or book (whichever you are using). I almost had to get myself a bib to keep from ruining my tablet.
The sex scenes are HOT. Miss Tescho does a very good job of keeping the sex tasteful, yet hot.
The story line is very well developed until about the last 25% of the book. It felt like Miss Tescho was running out of ideas. She was developing her story, pulling me in, and then BAM! All of a sudden the climax was there and within a few short sentences, it was over.
I did like the story. Miss Tescho is a talented writer. I just wish she had kept going with the story instead of pretty much slamming the door on the plot.
I do recommend this book. I feel that it is a worthwhile read. If you do read this book, please comment on this page with your opinion. I would love to find out what you think.

I received a copy of this book for free in return for an honest review. Thank you to Miss Tescho and Momentum Books for this opportunity.

Happy Reading!!

Monday, September 29, 2014

Silk & Spurs by Cheyenne McCray

Silk & Spurs (Rough and Ready #2)

Description via Goodreads:

Jessica Porter finds herself in southern Arizona on the Cameron’s Bar C Ranch ready to photograph the ranch and the oldest Cameron’s wedding. When Jessie meets Zane Cameron, she finds herself wishing the tall, dark, and gorgeous cowboy was free.

Lately, Zane has had the feeling that things aren’t as they seem with his fiancée. When she shows her true colors, he calls off the wedding.

Zane feels it’s too soon to fall for another woman, but when he meets Jessie, he just can’t get enough of being around her. It’s not long before the pair gets together and it grows hotter between them than an Arizona summer.

But Zane’s ex-fiancée threatens Jessie and everything takes a dangerous turn…a turn that could mean Jessie’s life.

Zane must find Jessie and save her…before it’s too late.

Miss McCray delivers...AGAIN!
Silk & Spurs isn't a normal length story. It is one of Miss McCray's novella's, a shorter story. One for someone who either doesn't have the time or inclination for a full length book.
Miss McCray develops her characters with the ease of an old friend. Her characters jump off the paper making the reader feel like they've known them for years.
Her story line is well thought out and flows with ease. The reader easily gets lost in the story, forgetting everything that is going on around them. The romance and sex is a natural progression to the heat that develops between the main characters. Miss McCray's writing is so wonderfully descriptive, it is like a hot movie is playing in your head.
Miss McCray's description of the area is spot on. The way she describes the beauty of Southeastern AZ (Bisbee, Sierra Vista, Sonoita, etc.) is spot on. Her love of the area is plain to see in her writing.

When you read Miss McCray's novella, Silk & Spurs, make sure you have nothing important to do, like cook dinner for the family. Why? Because, the family won't get fed.

Happy Reading!!

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Memory Zero by Keri Arthur

Memory Zero (paperback re-release)

Vampires, Shapeshifters, Kites, a secret organization in the police department, a state police officer with no memory of her life before the age of 14, and a police partner who tries to kill her.

First of all, who hasn't heard of Keri Arthur, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy? What a talented writer!

Memory Zero:The Spook Squad book 1 is one book that will keep you up all night because you HAVE to know what happens next!
Sam, a state police officer is almost killed by her partner and then charged with his murder and suspended by the force. She then accepts help from a shapeshifter named Gabriel, but doesn't know he is a shapeshifter. But Gabriel has secrets.
As she digs into her partner's death, she finds he is very much alive and part of an organization that plans a war with the human race. And someone knows about her past, the past she can't remember, As she learns more about her partner, things get very dangerous for Sam, Someone is very determined that she die before learning the truth. But, she is learning that the key to surviving is learning about her past-not only who she is, but what she is. (don't worry, I didn't give anything away!)
Miss Arthur keeps you guessing throughout the book. The twists and turns she takes you through provide a ride of intrigue, excitement, and adventure. The way she weaves the paranormal characters in with the "normal" characters is so flawless and natural. Her whole story is a natural flow of excitement and suspense. How will they deal with this? Who really did that? Will that character survive? Will they admit their attraction?
This story is a clear example of why Miss Arthur is a New York Times bestselling author. She is one of the ultimate storytellers of our day. Her books will be found in archives of the future!

Blurb via Miss Arthur's Website:

For Sam Ryan, life began at the age of fourteen. She has no memory of her parents or her past. All she has is a crayon drawing of a woman with the word “Mommy” scrawled underneath in childish handwriting.

For the ten years Sam’s been with the State Police, she’s used their resources to search for any clues to her identity. But it’s as if all mention of her family has been deliberately wiped off the system, and no one seems to know why.

Everything changes the night she agrees to meet her missing partner, Jack, and barely survives his attempt to kill her. Charged with his murder and suspended from the force, Sam finds herself accepting help from Gabriel Stern–a shapeshifter with secrets of his own.

As Sam delves into her partner’s death, she discovers more than she ever bargained for. Because not only is her partner very much alive, but he’s involved in an organization that plans a war on the human race. Worse, someone knows the truth about Sam’s past, and it appears that they’d rather see her dead than have her uncover it.

The deeper she digs, the more the danger grows. It soon becomes clear that the key to surviving the present lies in unravelling the threads of her past–and in discovering not just who she is, but what she is…

I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Miss Arthur and Random House Publishing Group-Bantam Dell.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Broken by Lauren Layne

Broken (Redemption, #1)

I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Miss Layne and Random House for this opportunity.

Synopisis via Goodreads:

When Olivia Middleton abandons the glamour of Park Avenue for a remote, coastal town in Maine, everyone assumes she’s being the kind do-gooder she’s always been. But Olivia has a secret: helping an injured war veteran reenter society isn’t about charity—it’s about penance. Only, Olivia’s client isn’t the grateful elderly man she’s expecting. Instead, he’s a brooding twenty-four-year-old who has no intention of being Olivia’s path to redemption . . . and whose smoldering gaze and forbidden touch might be her undoing.

Paul Langdon doesn’t need a mirror to show him he’s no longer the hotshot quarterback he was before the war. He knows he’s ugly—inside and out. He’ll do anything to stay in self-imposed exile, even accept his father’s ultimatum that Paul tolerate the newest caretaker for three months or lose his inheritance. But Paul doesn’t count on the beautiful twenty-two-year-old who makes him long for things that he can never have. And the more she slips past his defenses, the more keeping his distance is impossible.

Now Paul and Olivia have to decide: Will they help each other heal? Or are they forever broken?

I have to admit that I am a sucker for a soldier story. But even more so for a Wounded Warrior.
I was very impressed with Miss Layne's writing. Paul was very realistic and believable. There were a few things about Olivia I wasn't too sure about, but that did not stop me from becoming engrossed with the story and quickly falling in love with Paul and Olivia.

Paul and Olivia, two spoiled rich kids. Paul, a rich, spoiled boy who decides to serve his country. His reality check comes in the form of war. A war where he loses all of his friends and he is left with the scars of battle and survivor's guilt. A rich kid who has the benefit of daddy's money to come home and hide from the world as well as himself.
And then there is Olivia, another rich kid. She has a different kind of guilt to contend with. She has hurt someone very close to her. So she decides the only way to run away is to help someone else. With daddy's help, she lands a job helping an injured war vet-in luxury just like it would be if she were living at home.
Of course Paul doesn't want help, He would rather suffer by himself and never venture back out into the world, living in his bubble of self-exile.  After all, isn't that what daddy's money is for? And Olivia, she feels that if she can help someone else in need it will erase the hurt she has caused-a little unrealistic on her part don't you think? Of course, isn't that what most of us think about rich kids? They don't know what reality is really like, that they live in their glass towers and eat their caviar and the real world is beneath them?
Well, actually, Miss Layne has done a wonderful job of bringing these two "caviar kids" (as I call them) into the real world.
Paul and Olivia are exactly what the other needs. They are straight forward and brutally honest with each other. They begin to see that their pain isn't the only pain being felt in this great big world. Their time together teaches them to start worrying about how another person feels. Their romance grows, but like real world relationships, has a few stumbles.
I found myself rooting for Paul and Olivia, hoping that they would each open their own little world up and let hope and sunshine in.The plot is not a simple he has problems, she has problems, they get together and BOOM! Happily-ever-after happens. Miss Layne takes you on a few twists and turns and makes you wonder what will happen between them next. While not a suspense, it isn't a mindless story either.
Miss Layne delivers a wonderful happily-ever-after with characters that the reader can't help but fall in love with. So, as I see it, she has lived up to her "serious weakness for happily-ever-afters".
Check out BROKEN. It is worth your time.

Happy Reading

Sunday, August 17, 2014

The Night Visitor by Dianne Emley

The Night Visitor

I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Miss Emley and Alibi for this opportunity.

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Gorgeous and successful, Rory Langtry seemed to have it all. Daughter of a movie star and sister of a supermodel, Rory was engaged to sexy artist, Junior Lara. But her bright future went dark one terrible, bloody night that left her sister dead and the accused murderer—Junior—in an extended coma.

Now, five years later, Rory appears to have put the past behind her. She has a wonderful new fiancé and heads a successful cosmetics company. Yet dark secrets threaten. Across town, Junior lies close to death but before he departs he seeks to clear his name.

It starts with a feeling. It turns into a vision. Soon Rory is having sensations that only Junior could experience—from the horrifying to the erotic. Then she learns details about the awful night that only Junior could know, newfound knowledge with potentially fatal consequences. When another act of violence rocks her family, Rory plunges deeper into the unsolved mystery, led by an inexplicable visitor to a dangerous time and place where all will be revealed at last. But until then, Junior will not let her go.

I am a lover of paranormal romance, so unusual stories usually do not phase me. This story was a little more unusual than most. It was a little slow starting, but as the story line got going, I found myself wanting to know what happened. It is a story that takes a little getting used to. So hunker down and delve deep, it is worth the time to find your way to the end.

Happy Reading!

Aftermath by Denise Grover Swank


Synopsis via Goodreads:

Before she agreed to tutor Tucker Price, college junior Scarlett was introvert, struggling with her social anxiety and determined to not end up living in a trailer park like her mother and her younger sister. A mathematics major, she goes to her classes, to her job in the tutoring lab, and then hides in the apartment she shares with her friend, Caroline.

After junior Tucker Price, Southern University’s star soccer player enters the equation, her carefully plotted life is thrown off its axis. Tucker’s failing his required College Algebra class. With his eligibility is at risk, the university chancellor dangles an expensive piece of computer software for the math department if Scarlett agrees to privately tutor him.Tucker’s bad boy, womanizer reputation makes Scarlett wary of any contact, let alone spending several hours a week in close proximity.

But from her first encounter, she realizes Tucker isn’t the person everyone else sees. He carries a mountain of secrets which she suspects hold the reason to his self-destructive behavior. But the deeper she delves into the cause of his pain, the deeper she gets sucked into his chaos. Will Scarlett find the happiness she’s looking for, or will she be caught in Tucker’s aftermath?

Aftermath is not a simple love story. It is a soul-searching story about two young people who are trying to find their way after childhoods that have taught them that the only person they can rely on in life is themselves. Scarlett and Tucker have had very different childhoods, but both were very traumatic in their own way. Each have developed a way to cope. They find each other and through trial and error, learn how to let each other in. 
Aftermath is a very fitting title for this story. It is definitely not a typical contemporary love story. The plot is a lot deeper than that. This is the story of how two individuals find a sort of kindred spirit in each other and learn how to help each other begin to heal. Scarlett has a naivete about her, while Tucker has a little too much experience. Together they learn how to build a relationship that requires them to work together and to help each other out.

Miss Swank has created a story that brings out more emotions than you ever thought a story could produce. It is a refreshingly deep, emotional book that makes you think and feel throughout the journey, and yes, it is a journey. She takes you through Scarlett and Tucker's lives. There is such description and emotion. You will laugh, cry, hurt, and cheer. This is definitely a story with meat!!

Happy Reading!

Branded for You by Cheyenne McCray

Branded For You (Riding Tall, #1)

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Megan Wilder doesn’t think there’s a man in this world who could love her just the way she is. After meeting sexy Ryan McBride, she suspects he might just be the one to change her mind. 

With her family in danger of losing their restaurant and their home, a sudden illness has everything Megan thought was sure in her life crashing down around her. Finding out Ryan is the one responsible for threatening foreclosure shakes her very foundation.

Can Ryan and Megan succeed in overcoming their obstacles and fight for a love that was meant to be?

What can I say? Cheyenne McCray delivers a HOT cowboy and a great story to go along!
Cheyenne McCray is well known for her stories that are big on seriously HOT cowboys, seriously HOT  sex, and a woman that can more than handle all that HOTNESS!
Branded for You is no different. I was a little bit surprised, in a good way, that the book started out in a gentle, easy-going manner. The story is about a young woman who moves to an area right outside Prescott, AZ that has a gentle, easy-going lifestyle. I enjoyed that fact that the tempo of her story followed what was going on in the story. But don't think for a minute that Miss McCray changed her style of writing. Oh no!! She jumps in with both feet at the exact right time, but the story's tempo goes back and forth from slow and easy, to fast, HOT, and steamy!!
Another specific thing that I enjoyed about this story was the fact that Megan was not the cookie cutter, size 2 woman that the hot, sexy male falls in love with. Megan is described as a curvy woman. I personally get so tired of Hollywood's unrealistic expectation of what a sexy woman looks like. Miss McCray had the guts to go outside the "norm" and have a hot, sexy man fall for a healthy woman. Kudos to Miss McCray!!
Now, let me get off my little soapbox and get back to the important things: Miss McCray is a seasoned writer who knows exactly what it takes to draw her readers in, grab them by the hormones and keep them wanting more!! Miss McCray is a pro and a damn good one!

Cowboys, AZ, the outdoors; check out Branded for You, you will be going back for more Cheyenne McCray books!!

Happy Reading!!

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

*NEW* Awaken: The Soulkeepers by Lori Adams

Awaken (The Soulkeepers, #2)
Welcome to the Party!!!!

Sophia St. James has every reason to be happy: she survived the kiss of death from the seductive Demon Knight Dante and is free to be with Michael, her sexy Guardian Angel. She eagerly begins her Awakening to become a Spirit Walker and help lost souls cross over. But her training is fraught with setbacks, and Michael begs her to stop. The life of a Spirit Walker is far too dangerous, and he won’t be able to protect her.

Then Dante returns, threatening to drag Sophia to Hell so they can finally be together. Terrified of losing everything she has worked for, Sophia turns the tables on Dante, luring him into a deception that may get them both killed. The stakes climb even higher when Dante’s ally, Wolfgang, emerges from Hell with one order: kill Sophia. Will Michael once again be Sophia’s saving grace or will the Awakening give her the power she needs to save herself?

Sophia, Michael, and Dante are back. The thrills continue to build as Sophia begins to grow in her new life. Dante is still convinced she is the reincarnation of his past love. Michael and Sophia tackle the challenge of keeping their relationship from his family a secret, but it becomes even more imperative when Michael is offered his biggest dream.
As Sophia begins to learn how to be a Spirit Walker, she and Michael begin to learn about the trials and tribulations of a relationship.

Miss Adams has done it again! She brings us back to the intriguing triangle of Sophia, Michael, and Dante. She pulls us deeper into the supernatural world beyond our every day vision to witness how angels and demons fight over a strong, willful lady who is bound and determined to do her part to help souls find their way to the place they were meant to go.
Miss Adams adds a few new spins to this story. Dante learns that a demon is inhabiting the body of one of the people close to Sophia. But who? Sophia and Michael do not see eye to eye about her training to be a Shadow Walker. And Sophia's memories, are they memories of a past life, just like Dante says?
Miss Adams keeps expanding her paranormal world of wonder that lures the reader into all the excitement. Miss Adams's talent makes the reader want to reach in, grab the characters' hands and yell, "Grab my hand! I'll help!".

Displaying Lori Adams_Awaken Blog Tour Author Photo.jpegLori Adams is the author of the Soulkeepers Series: Forbidden, Awaken, and Unforgiven. She wrote her first book-about scary sharks-at the age of eight. Now she writes New Adult, young adult, and middle-grade fiction. Originally from Oklahoma, she now lives in Southern California with her husband and two daughters.

Visit Lori:
For a chance to win a copy of Forbidden book one in the Soulkeepers Series and a $25 gift card to eRetailer of choice, go to:
You can purchase this awesome book at these retailers (both e-book and "hold in your hand book"):
Barnes & Noble


Monday, August 4, 2014

Dark Sacrifice by Angie Sandro

Dark Sacrifice

About Dark Sacrifice via Grand Central Publishing:


Mala LaCroix sees dead people -really. After using her psychic gifts to catch a killer, she's locked in a psych ward and must strike a deal with the devil to secure her release. Apprenticed to a dark arts practitioner, Mala vows to free herself and save her loved ones from danger. But she doesn't know who to turn to when her crush on Landry Prince turns into something more serious.
Landry has sacrificed everything to protect Mala. A near-death experience changes him forever, and now he, too, possesses supernatural powers he doesn't understand. Mala and Landry must band together to defeat the dark forces-both human and otherworldly-who would use their abilities for evil. Even as they fall for each other, they must prepare to battle for their very souls . . . 

This is the second book in Mala and Landry's story. It isn't a "normal" love story. Mala sees dead people and Landry, well let's just say before his near-death experience, he DIDN'T see dead people. But after his near death experience, Landry finds himself fighting an evil within. 
Mala finds herself forced to honor her promise to her aunt to apprentice under her. Mala has never been comfortable around her Aunt Magnolia, and now she is forced to learn from a woman she considers evil. 
Let's just say that Mala and Landry never have a typical or dull day.

I was so excited to start reading this next chapter in Mala's story. It was a seamless extension of Dark Paradise. Miss Sandro knows exactly how to keep her readers begging for more.
The characters keep evolving and growing as the story progresses. While the setting and plot may have a mostly dark undertone to it, there are so many parts that shine brighter than the sun, and Miss Sandro knows exactly when those bright spots are needed most.

I am really intrigued by the way Mala is a two-edged sword. One moment she is so naive and childish, and the next she is like a typical early 20's adult, very unpredictable and enchanting. She seems so worldly because of her mother's chosen profession, yet is totally lacking in first-hand experience.
And Landry, he is a favorite of the town, a rich, spoiled kid who gets whatever and whomever he wants-until Mala. But after losing his sister and falling for Mala, he learns what it really means to care about someone other than himself.

Dark Sacrifice is a must read! Miss Sandro is a gifted writer who knows how to weave a magical world full of words that will draw you in and keep you captivated until the very last word, and you will still want more. 
HMMM, makes me wonder-was she the one who apprenticed under Aunt Magnolia????

Take a few minutes to visit Miss Sandro's Facebook/Twitter/blog. The links are at the bottom of the page.

 Happy Reading!!

Buy Links

 Angie Sandro was born at Whiteman Air Force Base in Missouri. Within six weeks, she began the first of eleven relocations throughout the United States, Spain, and Guam before the age of eighteen. 
Friends were left behind. The only constants in her life were her family and the books she shipped wherever she went. Traveling the world inspired her imagination and allowed her to create her own imaginary friends. Visits to her father's family in Louisiana inspired this story. Angie now lives in Northern California with her husband, two children, and an overweight Labrador.

Angie’s social media

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Marked by Jaymie Holland


Synopsis via Miss Holland's website:

Flight attendant Tracie Bell's career has her always on the go. Too busy flying from one airport to the next, having already learned the hard lesson about not mixing business with pleasure, Tracie is content with her dark dream lover fantasies and memories of submission past. As for the men in her life, well, they might as well get frequent flier miles for as often as they take flight, never seeming to stick around when she really needs them. It's not that she's bitter about it, but she knows it's inevitable that they always take off and leave her.

But Tracie is not just a play-with-anyone kind of woman. She craves submitting to a Dom and being owned and used for pleasure. Approaching the gate for a pickup flight to Hawaii, Tracie finds herself begrudgingly attracted to not only one but two of her first class passengers, Lucas and Kane.

Lucas Connor and Kane Allen hadn't been sure they were ready to entertain seeing someone again after losing the woman they loved to a violent act more than a year ago. Seeing Tracie's beautiful features blush with her mutual attraction was all it took for them to open to the idea. She's intelligent, caring, sweet, and oh-so-submissive. Problem is she's too skittish to involve herself in any kind of relationship, especially with two men. Even after a night of incredible passion, she runs.

Now Lucas and Kane must show her she's made her mark on their hearts. Forever and always.

Warning: This book is for mature readers, 18 years and older.

I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Miss Holland for the opportunity.

BDSM: According to the Urban Dictionary, this stands for Bondage and Discipline, Dominance and Submission, Sadism and Masochism. Just the fact that this book is about BDSM should tell you it is a page scorching story. But I have to admit that the "knowledge" I have of this subject is not the true definition of the word.What I haveare ideas and jokes that are passed around by people who don't know a thing about the lifestyle. And truth be told, it is a practice that is considered outside of "normal".
While this book is a hot story about sex, it is also a story about the relationship between the people who enjoy this type of lifestyle.
Miss Holland does a wonderful job of writing the story in a mature and tasteful manner. I enjoyed the interaction and developing relationship between the three main characters. The characters related to each other in a way that showed how true affection can help each person achieve any type of lifestyle that is desired.
Do I know if the story is true to life? No. But I do know that I had a hard time putting it down and wanted the story to keep going even when it was finished. Miss Holland has a gift for creating a world that the reader can fall into. Her descriptors help the reader develop a picture in their mind, but does not bog the them down. The story flows like a refreshing stream, swift and clear.
Can you give a book more than 5 stars?? I definitely would!!
Marked is a book that is a MUST READ for book lovers of contemporary romance. One you read one of Miss Holland's books, you will be hooked!

Guilt by Association by Marcia Clark

Guilt By Association

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Los Angeles D.A. Rachel Knight is a tenacious, wise-cracking, and fiercely intelligent prosecutor in the city's most elite division. When her colleague, Jake, is found dead at a grisly crime scene, Rachel is shaken to the core. She must take over his toughest case: the assault of a young woman from a prominent family.

But she can't stop herself from digging deeper into Jake's death, a decision that exposes a world of power and violence and will have her risking her reputation--and her life--to find the truth.

With her tremendous expertise in the nuances of L.A. courts and crime, and with a vibrant ensemble cast of characters, Marcia Clark combines intimate detail, riotous humor, and visceral action in a debut thriller that marks the launch of a major new figure on the crime-writing scene.

I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Miss Clark and Mulholland Books for the opportunity.

Hmmm, does the name Marcia Clark sound familiar to you? Are you old enough to remember O.J. Simpson? Are you old enough to remember the O.J. Simpson murder trial? Well, then yep, that's her. Marcia Clark the Los Angeles Prosecutor. She has turned to writing.

Guilt by Association was a decent read. It was slow starting and a fairly slow reading story. Miss Clark is very heavy handed when it comes to describing everything (maybe it comes from being in a profession where precision means a lot). For me, the overly done descriptors got very old and boring. The actual plot of the story was intriguing. I kept reading to find out what would happen next. The way she interconnected the two cases flowed easily and convincingly.
Her characters were fairly well developed, but it felt like she spent more time on describing everything surrounding the plot and the characters, than trying to really develop the characters.
Overall, I would recommend Miss Clark's books to mystery enthusiasts.

Happy Reading!

Irresistible Force by D. D. Ayres


Synopsis via Goodreads:

For Shay Appleton, it’s love at first sight when a gorgeous stray dog is brought into the animal shelter where she works. She just knows he’ll make a terrific watch dog—and with an abusive ex who won’t let go, she needs all the protection she can get. But Shay never suspected that her new pet is actually a trained police K-9 named Bogart—until Bogart’s even more gorgeous, human partner shows up on her doorstep.

Officer James Cannon is one tall, strong alpha male who’s convinced that Shay stole his dog. But once he gets closer to the suspect, he realizes that this stubborn, independent woman not only needs a guard dog, she needs James as well. It seems that someone from her past is stalking her, and threatening her life. When danger meets desire, will James risk his career and his best friend…to protect the woman who’s stolen his heart?

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Miss Ayres and St. Martin's Press for the opportunity.

A story about a HOT cop and his K-9 partner? I was all in! And boy did Miss Ayres deliver!
When James Cannon went looking for his stolen partner, he found a lot more. But Shay Appleton was more than met his eye. She was trying to end a relationship with a man that refused to end it. So Shay got a dog for protection. Little did she know Bogart was a highly trained police dog. But she and Bogart bonded right away.
Officer James Cannon loved his partner Bogart more than as a partner, they had a special bond. And when Bogart went missing, he had to do everything he could to find him.
Miss Ayres is a writer who knows how to create a solid story and characters to keep the story flowing. This is a book that you want to read more for the plot than for the romance. Don't get me wrong, the romance is well written, but it is a natural progression of the plot and the way the main characters interact.
The characters each have a history that make them the perfect ying/yang to each other.
The story is a realistic chain of events that could happen right outside your door, except maybe how Bogart ended up with Shay, but that is what artistic license is all about.
I count this book as a DEFINITE read.
Cops and canines, two things near and dear to my heart!

Happy Reading!

Summer time

Hello Everyone. I hope you have had the kind of summer you wanted. Trips to the beach, to see family, vacations to remember or just staying at home "chillaxin" as my teenagers say.
It has been quite an eventful one for me. I apologize for the time span between my postings. I have spent time with wonderful friends, two families who have retired from the military this summer and taken the time to come see us. One family decided to move a mile down the road, the other family came back from being stationed in England for three years. My 16 year old got to spend a month with his best friend and then they all came out here. I have to say, you really need to go do the touristy things with people who have never been to your neck of the woods. Even after living here in Nashville for 20 years, it was a whole new place seeing it through the eyes of our friends. We had a blast in our own "back yard".
So, I am back and will be posting a few reviews back to back in the next day or so. I read some pretty good books while recovering from surgery and am now excited to be able to get them posted.
If you are lucky enough to still have some summer left before the kids go back to school, I wish you fun and sun. If you are like me and the kids go back to school this next week, I hope you get back into the swing of schedules quickly and you enjoy every minute you have with your Blessings from God.
Happy Reading!

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

If I Were You by Lisa Renee Jones

If I Were You

I received a copy in return for an honest review. Thank you to Miss Jones and Simon & Schuster for this opportunity.

Synopsis via Miss Jones website:

How It All Started…

One day I was a high school teacher on summer break, leading a relatively uneventful but happy life. Or so I told myself. Later, I’d question that, as I would question pretty much everything I knew about me, my relationships, and my desires. It all began when my neighbor thrust a key to a storage unit at me. She’d bought it to make extra money after watching some storage auction show. Now she was on her way to the airport to elope with a man she barely knew, and she needed me to clear out the unit before the lease expired.

Soon, I was standing inside a small room that held the intimate details of another woman’s life, feeling uncomfortable, as if I was invading her privacy. Why had she let these items so neatly packed, possessions that she clearly cared about deeply, be lost at an auction? Driven to find out by some unnamed force, I began to dig, to discover this woman’s life, and yes, read her journals—dark, erotic journals that I had no business reading. Once I started, I couldn’t stop. I read on obsessively, living out fantasies through her words that I’d never dare experience on my own, compelled by the three men in her life, none of whom had names. I read onward until the last terrifying dark entry left me certain that something had happened to this woman. I had to find her and be sure she was okay.

Before long, I was taking her job for the summer at the art gallery, living her life, and she was nowhere to be found. I was becoming someone I didn’t know. I was becoming her.

The dark, passion it becomes…

Now, I am working at a prestigious gallery, where I have always dreamed of being, and I’ve been delivered to the doorstep of several men, all of which I envision as one I’ve read about in the journal. But there is one man that will call to me, that will awaken me in ways I never believed possible. That man is the ruggedly sexy artist, Chris Merit, who wants to paint me. He is rich and famous, and dark in ways I shouldn’t find intriguing, but I do. I so do. I don’t understand why his dark side appeals to me, but the attraction between us is rich with velvety promises of satisfaction. Chris is dark, and so are his desires, but I cannot turn away. He is damaged beneath his confident good looks and need for control, and in some way, I feel he needs me. I need him.

All I know for certain is that he knows me like I don’t even know me, and he says I know him. Still, I keep asking myself — do I know him? Did he know her, the journal writer, and where is she? And why doesn’t it seem to matter anymore? There is just him and me, and the burn for more.

If I Were You is the first installment of the Inside Out erotic romance trilogy that has actually turned into a multi-book series. And OMG! does it make a splash! Or should I say a CANNONBALL!

So. when I first read the synopsis I was very intrigued. I was expecting the main character to start the story by reading entries into the diaries. Well, I was somewhat disappointed. And then Sara's story started developing. It went from 0-60 in seconds flat when Miss Jones started telling Sara's story.
Sara's burst of daring when she decided to go to the gallery where Rebecca, the person who wrote the diaries, worked. Sara wanted to give Rebecca her property back. But when Sara gets there, her life takes a whole new turn. First she meets the gallery owner, Mark. Mark makes her feel like she should just turn over control of her life and body to him, just by looking at him and talking to him. Then she meets Chris. Chris is an artist. Sara knows his work inside and out, but Chris is nothing like she imagined he would ever be.
As Sara's story unfolds, she and Chris jump into a relationship that neither can define. It is HOT, STEAMY, confusing, and goes beyond any relationship either has ever encountered. Together they start to traverse unknown territory while dark secrets lurk in their past.

I was SO hooked from the time Sara and Chris met. The sex scenes are toe-curling, but not the kind that make you fee like you need a cleansing shower afterward (maybe a cold shower!). But there is meat to this story. Sara and Chris are characters that you want to see stay together, but Mark is someone you just can't make your mind up about. The story line keeps you interested, wanting more; yet the sex is just a natural succession to what is happening in the story.
And to tell the truth, Chris is a character that most women will start dreaming is the type of man that will sweep them off their feet and against a picturesque window!
I can not wait to get going on the next book.
If you could give more than 5 stars, this would earn them!! This is a must read!!!!
Happy Reading!

Monday, July 21, 2014

When Shadows Fall by J.T. Ellison

When Shadows Fall (Dr. Samantha Owens #3)

I received this book free in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Miss Ellison for this opportunity.

Description via Goodreads:

Dear Dr. Owens, 

If you are reading this letter, I am dead and I would be most grateful if you could solve my murder…

Forensic pathologist Dr. Samantha Owens thought life was finally returning to normal after she suffered a terrible personal loss. Settling into her new job at Georgetown University, the illusion is shattered when she receives a disturbing letter from a dead man imploring her to solve his murder. There's only one catch. Timothy Savage's death was so obviously the suicide of a demented individual that the case has been closed. 

When Sam learns Savage left a will requesting she autopsy his body, she feels compelled to look into the case. Sam's own postmortem discovers clear signs that Savage was indeed murdered. And she finds DNA from a kidnapped child whose remains were recovered years earlier. 

The investigation takes Sam into the shadows of a twenty-year-old mystery that must be solved to determine what really happened to Timothy Savage. Nothing about the case makes sense but it is clear someone is unwilling to let anyone, especially Samantha Owens, discover the truth.

This was my introduction to Dr. Samantha Owens. I regret that I missed the stories where she was here in Nashville. I will definitely be reading those first two books!
Miss Ellison has created a character that is smart, intuitive, spunky, yet as feminine as a woman can be. She has created Dr. Samantha Owens to be a multi-faceted character that does whatever it takes to get her answers.
While When Shadows Fall  is a third book in the Dr. Samantha Owens Series, I had no difficulty keeping up with the story line.
This book was intriguing and fast-paced from the very start. The mystery continued to delve deeper and deeper as the story unfurled. Miss Ellison knows how to create a mystery that will keep the reader guessing. She has a wonderful mind for murder and mystery. And she does her homework on all the little things, as well as the big ones, to lend authenticity and believability to her story.
She had me waffling with my guess of "who-dun-it" with her twists and turns. As well as rooting for the good guys to take the bad guy down!
This is a MUST READ !
It is out in hardback and e-book now, with paperback being released in September.

Happy Reading!

Thursday, July 3, 2014

Dark Paradise by Angie Sandro

Dark Paradise

I received this book free in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Miss Sandro and Forever Yours Publishing for this opportunity.

Description via Goodreads:

Mala LaCroix has spent her whole life trying to escape her destiny. As the last in a long line of "witch women," she rejects the notion of spirits and hoodoo and instead does her best to blend in. But when she finds a dead body floating in the bayou behind her house, Mala taps into powers she never knew she had. She's haunted by visions of the dead girl, demanding justice and vengeance.


Landry Prince has always had a crush on Mala, but when Mala discovers his sister, murdered and marked in some sort of Satanic ritual, he wonders if all the rumors about the LaCroix family are true. Yet after Mala uses her connection to the spirit world to identify his sister's killer, he starts to form his own bond to her . . . a very physical one. As they move closer to each other and closer to the truth, Mala and Landry must risk everything—their families, their love, and even their lives.

My Opinion:
I have to admit, I was a little skeptical about this book. There are a few times I have attempted to read a story about the Louisiana Bayou hoodoo, voodoo, witches, and such and ended up not finishing them. But the description for Dark Paradise just pulled me in like no other romance/thriller. And boy was I glad I took the chance on this book! Miss Sandro must be a witch from the Louisiana Bayou herself to be able to weave such a dark, exciting, thriller interlaced with romance. She had me hooked by page 2! I instantly felt so many things for Mala. I felt so bad for her upbringing, but at the same time I was so entranced with her strong, independent nature. Miss Sandro did a superb job of showing Mala's many different facets. She is a strong independent young lady forced to learn how to be a caregiver to her drunken/prostitute of a mother, yet she is still somewhat naive in the relationship department. 
After she finds a dead body floating in her swamp, she begins to see and feel ghosts. Of course in her mind, she feels like she is going crazy. And when her mother confronts her with what is really happening, Mala denies it until she can't ignore it anymore. But then, she finds she has someone to confide in, Landry, the brother of the victim. Landry is also being haunted by the same ghost, his sister. As Mala and Landry are thrown together, Mala starts to learn the difference between a crush and love.
This book was one that I almost couldn't put down. If I didn't have to sleep, I would have read it in one sitting. I enjoyed the way Miss Sandro created her characters. All of them had so many facets and they all intertwined like a perfect melody. I actually found myself beginning to get angry at the characters who treated Mala bad, and started to "like" the characters who treated her with respect. I have to say that I really enjoyed the little twists and turns in the plot.
I can't wait to read the next book to find out more about Mala.
This is a definite READ THIS BOOK!!

Happy Reading!

ARV-3 by Cameo Renae

ARV-3 (The After Light Saga, #1)

I received ARV-3(The Afterlight Saga) as an ARC in exchange for an honest review. I would like the thank Miss Renae and Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing for this opportunity.

Description via Goodreads:

The beginning of the end. The Apocalypse.

A nuclear fallout wiped out every living thing on the planet, except for a few thousand of us who took shelter in underground bunkers across the globe. Now, after thirteen long years, we were finally able to return to the topside to begin to rebuild.

We thought we were alone. We were never more wrong.

Before the fallout, scientists had worked on creating an anti-radiation vaccine (ARV). The first two attempts failed, but despite the incomplete tests and results, the government approved and distributed the third serum to the masses in an effort to aid those who had no shelter.

It worked, keeping those who remained on the topside alive, but it also altered and mutated them. This new and infectious threat had completely outnumbered us. Now, we not only had to rebuild our planet. We would have to fight for it.

My name is Abigail Park. I’m seventeen, and this is my story.

My Opinion:

I thoroughly enjoyed ARV-3. At first it was somewhat of a slow read, but I couldn't help myself, I wanted to find out what happened next.
If you are a fan of The Walking Dead, you will enjoy this book. While the creatures are not zombies, they can be likened to zombies. It is about a group of survivors trying to fight their way to another group of survivors, a shelter built by the government, but this story is from the viewpoint of a kick ass 17 year old girl.
When Abigail and the other survivors from her hive finally meet up with the government group of survivors, they have to learn to live by rules created by somebody else. These rules are strict severe consequences even for the slightest infraction.
Miss Renae does a great job of developing her characters and the plot. She knows exactly how to create characters that jump out at the reader and take hold of them. There is no way a reader can put this book down. Miss Renae creates a plot that carries the characters as well as the reader along for a thrilling ride. I really enjoyed how she added the romance between Abigail and Finn, yet kept it realistic. As teenagers who have never had a boyfriend/girlfriend, she added that little bit of drama that kept them from being too "fairy
tale sweet". The reader will keep reading just to find out what happens next. She has a great grasp of what it will take to bring the reader back for the next book in the saga. She chose a cliffhanger that leaves the reader anxious and excited to find out what happens to Abigail and Finn?
I'm hooked! This is one series I will definitely read until Miss Renae decides to (hopefully) find a happily ever after for Abigail and Finn.
Taker the time to read this book, you will be happy you did.

Happy Reading!