Sunday, December 20, 2015

Primal Force by D.D. Ayres

Primal Force (K-9 Rescue, #3)

Description via Goodreads:
Passion is always worth fighting for…

Jori Garrison trains dogs for Warrior Wolf Pack, which provides service animals for disabled veterans. Four years ago, she was wrongly convicted of a crime—thanks to her no-good ex-fiancé. Now she just wants to live her life in peace with her beloved dogs. No men, no complications. But it’s hard to play it cool when a lethally hot male is on her tail—and the attraction is fierce, mutual, and dangerous…


Lauray "Law" Batisse is a Military Police veteran who was wounded in Afghanistan. Haunted by the loss of his K-9 partner in combat, he’s reluctant to accept a service dog named Samantha into his life. But once he meets her trainer—the gorgeous Jori Garrison—he can’t fight his primal instincts. And neither can Jori. This sexy alpha male might be the only man strong enough to unleash her desires. And when unseen enemies start hunting them down, he and his new K-9 partner might be her only hope… to survive. 

A story about a SEXY as sin, HOT as hell wounded warrior/cop and his K-9 partner? I wouldn't miss this one for anything!! Miss Ayres has made a lifelong reader of me!
Miss Ayres knows how to combine a wounded vet coming home to try and reintegrate into civilian police work, a strong, smart, loyal K-9, and a strong, stubborn, determined woman into a story that will melt your heart! Her writing has style and class.
She weaves a realistic tale of a broken, but proud man determined to come home from a war that changed him physically and mentally and go back to the independent, kickass cop he was before he went off to answer the call of his nation and a strong determined woman working on a second chance at life. She never once makes the reader feel sorry for Law or Jori. It is all about the chemistry between the lead characters and action. It becomes impossible to put the book down.
I must admit that I fell head over heels for Law. He had the perfect combination of stubborness, drive, pride, and caring for others that a military man/police officer should carry. I should know. I am blessed to be married to a dual career retired Army Officer and retired Police Officer.
But let me talk about the wonderful surprise Miss Ayres added to the story. She added a third voice to the story. She added Samantha, the "cheese doodle's" voice. We get a glimpse into what the dog thinks and feels. I LOVED finding out what was going through Samantha's head periodically throughout the story. It defined the bonding between K-9 and soldier.
If I were to sum all of this up, I would very simply say "You have GOT to get read this book. End the year on an awesome note!
I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.

Friday, December 4, 2015

Branded for You (AudioBook) by Cheyenne Mccray

Branded for You (Riding Tall, #1)

Hi everyone. This review is less of a review of the book and more of a review of the Audiobook that is narrated by David Quimby. 
My opinion of this story has not changed since I reviewed it in August of 2014. But let me revisit my review:
What can I say? Cheyenne McCray delivers a HOT cowboy and a great story to go along!
Cheyenne McCray is well known for her stories that are big on seriously HOT cowboys, seriously HOT  sex, and a woman that can more than handle all that HOTNESS!
Branded for You is no different. I was a little bit surprised, in a good way, that the book started out in a gentle, easy-going manner. The story is about a young woman who moves to an area right outside Prescott, AZ that has a gentle, easy-going lifestyle. I enjoyed that fact that the tempo of her story followed what was going on in the story. But don't think for a minute that Miss McCray changed her style of writing. Oh no!! She jumps in with both feet at the exact right time, but the story's tempo goes back and forth from slow and easy, to fast, HOT, and steamy!!
Another specific thing that I enjoyed about this story was the fact that Megan was not the cookie cutter, size 2 woman that the hot, sexy male falls in love with. Megan is described as at a curvy woman. I personally get so tired of Hollywood's unrealistic expectation of what a sexy woman looks like. Miss McCray had the guts to go outside the "norm" and have a hot, sexy man fall for a healthy woman. Kudos to Miss McCray!!
Now, let me get off my little soapbox and get back to the important things: Miss McCray is a seasoned writer who knows exactly what it takes to draw her readers in, grab them by the hormones and keep them wanting more!! Miss McCray is a pro and a damn good one!
All right, let's get into the narration. Mr. Quimby is a very articulate, well-enunciated narrator. There is never any difficulty understanding what Mr. Quimby is saying. He attempts to create a different "voice" for each character, but in my opinion it is a little weird to hear an older gentleman attempt the voice of a little girl or a 30-something woman. I also had a little difficulty picturing Ryan as a hot, muscular cowboy when the dialogue came from a man that sounded to be in his mid to late 50's or older. For me, it is important to be able to have a running "movie" in my head as I read.As I listened to Mr. Quimby, I found that very hard.
I recommend that everyone give the audiobook a try. Why? Because each person enjoys books and stories differently.

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Target Engaged by M.L. Buchman (Sampler Tour)

Book 1 in M.L. Buchman’s thrilling NEW Delta Force series

Delta Force: The most dangerous elite counter-terrorism force on the planet
• The deadliest shooters •
• The most out-of-the-box thinkers in any military •
• Will die to get the mission done •

Sergeant Kyle Reeves: The premier soldier of the new recruits
Sergeant Carla Anderson: The first woman of Delta Force

If the training doesn’t kill them, their passion may—but Kyle Reeves and Carla Anderson blast right in. Show no fear. Have no fear. Then they get the call. The most powerful drug-smuggling ring in Venezuela needs a takedown, and Delta’s newest team leaps into the deep jungle to deliver. Giving their all? Not a problem. Giving their hearts? That takes a new level of courage.

Let me tell you about this book that I could not put down. It was totally AWESOME! And as I read it, I could not believe it was written by a MAN!! Yes, it's a little sexist, I know.  But seriously, most romance writers are female! Mr. Buchman takes what I call "action-adventure, romance" to a whole new level!
A woman Delta Force? I love how Mr. Buchman stepped outside of the box.
Mr. Buchman has done women proud everywhere! Carla is a strong, self-sufficient, kick-ass woman who falls in love with a man who loves her independence, strength, and sexiness. A man who wouldn't change one tiny thing about her. 
Is it realistic? I think so. Mr, Buchman seems to have done a lot of research. He really tapped into the importance of teamwork, camaraderie, and working as one.
What about the romantic/sex scenes? Well, he got those down to a science also. They aren't as drawn out and described as most of the female romance writers, but there is plenty of descriptives to get your libido piqued.
Best of all, that isn't everything. He is big on action! This could easily be made into an action-adventure just based on the blow up, capture, evade, and military training portion of the story.
But, what about the character developement? Well, he draws you in and makes you fall in love with all of the Delta Team. Mr. Buchman has used this story to introduce each member of the team. While he doesn't go all out in developing each character, he sets the background with enough information that lends you a glimpse into who they are and helps you to want more.
I am so stoked to read the next installment in his First Women of Delta Force series!

Want to see what all my hype is about without buying the book? Here is a link to get a taste:

Want to win a set of Mr. Buchman's books? Visit this link: 

This is a story that you MUST read! I promise, you won't be able to put it down!

Sunday, November 8, 2015

Wicked Embers (Souls of Fire #2) by Keri Arthur

Wicked Embers by Keri Arthur

Synopsis via Goodreads:
Crimson Death, the plague like virus spawned from a failed government experiment to isolate the enzymes that make vampires immortal, continues to spread. Emberly and her partner, Jackson Miller, are desperately seeking the stolen research for a cure before the virus becomes a pandemic.

But their mission is jeopardized by another threat uncovered in Emberly’s prophetic dreams. A creature of ash and shadow has been unleashed on a murdering spree. Now Emberly must summon all her gifts and investigative knowledge to put an end to this entity’s brutal rampage—even if it means placing herself in harm’s way....

 I was so excited to be reading a book by THE KERI ARTHUR! I actually let it "cut the line" in front of a few other books I had received first. But to be very fair, about half of this last month has been steeped in severe migraines-something I cursed every time I tried to read the story! I honestly did not have any trouble with this book being the second book in the series. Miss Arthur did an excellent job of weaving information into the story without taking away from this story.
Once I was able to get into the story- well, let's just say frustration at being at work and every minute my poor husband wanted me to go somewhere really tore me up!! Learning about Emberly's life was very interesting. This is the first story for me that involved a Phoenix.
Miss Arthur does a wonderful job of engaging her characters in not only action, adventure, and suspense, but she weaves their private lives in effortlessly. There is no need for the story to pause so the characters' love lives can be expanded upon.
But, one thing that, in my opinion, Miss Arthur does so well with Emberly and Rory, is the way they have found what the majority of people look for: the one person they can not live without. I understand that Emberly and Rory have a unique relationship (no spoilers-sorry), but without each other, their lives are "forfeit" (if you will). I immediately picked up on the fact that Emberly and Rory were lifelong soulmates, something that some people will go through multiple marriages trying to find. But Miss Arthur pulls that very human trait into her supernatural world.
So, what will this story do for you? Well, for me, it took me to another "dimension" of what our current world could be. It took me into adventure, excitement, suspense, and the personal lives of some very interesting and intelligent characters.
So, before you open this book, make sure you are in your comfy clothes, you have no kids (or spouses) around that will demand your attention, a beverage (or two) of your choosing, and maybe a snack all set and ready to go. You will want to devote all your time to finishing this book. Of course, unless you plan to read it sitting on the toilet (as a mom, this may be an option!!), be prepared to be frustrated when mother nature calls you away from Emberly and Rory!
This is on my list of recommendations as MUST READ!!
But then, book 3 is coming out soon, so you might want to get this one done quickly so you can be ready for the next one.

Saturday, September 26, 2015

Zack (Armed & Dangerous #1) by Cheyenne McCray


Synopsis via

Ever since bad boy Zack Hunter left her ten years ago, breaking her heart, Sky MacKenna hasn't been able to find a man who sets her on fire the way he did. Then he comes striding back into her life—bigger, badder, and sexier than before.

Zack Hunter never thought his job as an Immigration and Customs Enforcement agent would lead him back to his small hometown, and he never thought he'd set eyes on Sky again. Leaving her behind had been the stupidest thing he'd ever done, but this time he isn't going to let her go. And as soon as Zack lays eyes on Sky, he makes it clear that he intends to make her his all over again.

When Sky becomes entangled in the case he's investigating, Zack can't help but take the threat personally. As the danger mounts, their passion burns even hotter.

**Please note: Zack was published in print only with St. Martin's Griffin. Zack was originally published in eBook and print with Ellora's Cave under the title Wildfire. Character names were changed at St. Martin's request, and the "Armed and Dangerous" versions were expanded considerably from the original "Wild" series.

I have read the original version Miss McCray wrote and I have read this new version. Which is better? Actually I don't think one is better than the other. I think Miss McCray took an excellent read and expanded on it. She is a writer who knows exactly what her readers want and gives it to them.

Zack and Sky are an interesting couple. Here are two people who have a history together. A history that was painful for Sky and difficult for Zack. Zack hurt Sky in a way a woman never forgets. Now Zack is coming back to his home town years later determined to win her back.
This is a story full of emotion, conflict of the heart, and a love that survived time.

I find it hard to write a review for some of Cheyenne's stories. It isn't because the story is bad. It is in fact because the stories and characters are so well written that putting emotion into words can be a very difficult endeavor for most. I fell in love with Zack and Sky as a couple and as individuals. I felt the anxiety Zack felt as he rode back into town. I felt the lust and hurt Sky felt when Zack drove onto her ranch. Cheyenne writes with such heart and emotion, that the story comes alive in your heart. You can't help but cheer for Sky and Zack. You can't help but hurt when they hurt or feel fear when they feel fear.
Zack is book #1 in the Armed and Dangerous series, but I promise, you won't stop reading until you have completed the series and then, you will still want more!!

I received a free copy of the book in return for an honest review. Thank you to Miss McCray for this opportunity.

Arena One: Slaverunners by Morgan Rice

Arena One Small.jpg (159731 bytes)

Synopsis via

New York. 2120. American has been decimated, wiped out from the second Civil War. In this post-apocalyptic world, survivors are far and few between. And most of those who do survive are members of the violent gangs, predators who live in the big cities. They patrol the countryside looking for slaves, for fresh victims to bring back into the city for their favorite death sport: Arena One. The death stadium where opponents are made to fight to the death, in the most barbaric of ways. There is only one rule to the arena: no one survives. Ever.

Deep in the wilderness, high up in the Catskill Mountains, 17 year old Brooke Moore manages to survive, hiding out with her younger sister, Bree. They are careful to avoid the gangs of slaverunners who patrol the countryside. But one day, Brooke is not as careful as she can be, and Bree is captured. The slaverunners take her away, heading to the city, and to what will be a certain death.

Brooke, a Marine’s daughter, was raised to be tough, to never back down from a fight. When her sister is taken, Brooke mobilizes, uses everything at her disposal to chase down the slaverunners and get her sister back. Along the way she runs into Ben, 17, another survivor like her, whose brother was taken. Together, they team up on their rescue mission.

What follows is a post-apocalyptic, action-packed thriller, as the two of them pursue the slaverunners on the most dangerous ride of their lives, following them deep into the heart of New York. Along the way, if they are to survive, they will have to make some of the hardest choices and sacrifices of their lives, encountering obstacles neither of them had expected—including their unexpected feelings for each other. Will they rescue their siblings? Will they make it back? And will they, themselves, have to fight in the arena?

This book was brought to my attention by my 17 year old son. He asked if I had read it yet, when I said no and asked if it was any good, he simply replied "Yep. You need to read it." For Josh that is a very high recommendation. Well, I read the book and here I am.

What I liked about the book: I enjoyed that it was fast-paced and full of action. It pretty much ran like an action-adventure movie in my head the whole time I read it. There were enough "pause" scenes between the action to explain the back story and nuances into each of the characters, yet not so many that the action was disrupted.
I read some of the other reviews and something that stood out to me was the complaint that some of the action wasn't realistic. Well, I understand that some people need reality to keep them grounded. But the truth is, every day on TV and in the movies we see scenes where reality is tweaked a little to add to the drama or the romance. I don't know how many times during a medical drama I turn to my husband and say "There were so many things wrong with that scene". Or when we are watching a police drama and my husband will say "They make all of us look crooked". You see I love reading because you can go anywhere and do anything you want!
What about readers who just want a book that is a great read and will take them away on an adventure. Arena One will do that. Like I said earlier, it is full of action and adventure. You will have a hard time putting this book down.
So, let's talk about the deeper, more intellectual part of the book:
I enjoyed Miss Rice's take on how we would end up destroying our own country. It is very apropos to the state of our government right now-the republican and democratic nominees slinging mud and how the president and congress keep facing off. Not to mention the intensity of tension and skirmishes on social media between everyday people on current events and politics. Was it meant to be a political statement? I don't know, but you can't help but think about the ramifications. Was it meant to just be a story to carry the action junky away? I don't know, but it works for me. Was it meant to be a means to get young people back into reading for the love of reading and not just for school? I don't know, but my son found another book to keep him reading and that alone is worth it for me as a mother.
Here is my take on this book: I think it should be brought in to schools and offered as a comparison to George Orwell's 1984. Arena One is more relevant to today's politics and state of unrest than 1984. But by reading both, the reader will be able to see how different, yet similar writers of the different decades viewed conflict within our own country's leadership.

I place this book on the "must read" list of reader who like Dystopian Fiction and/or Young Adult.

Happy Reading Y'all!

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Resist (Resistance #2) by Tracy Lawson Blog Tour

Resist (Resistance #2)   

Book Two, Resist, picks up this fast-paced dystopian series with the resistance forming against injustice. After their plan to rescue a group of dissenters imprisoned by the OCSD spins out of control, Tommy and Careen are on the run, dodging the quadrant marshals in a headlong dash for the remote mountain headquarters of the Resistance.
Their budding relationship is tested when an attempt to spark a revolution goes awry, and the pair move toward an inevitable confrontation with the forces that terrorize the nation. Will their differing viewpoints drive a wedge between them? And where does love fit in when you’re trying to overthrow the government? 

•What happens when we surrender our civil liberties for the promise of safety and security. 
•Using a dystopian thriller to ask, “What if the government controlled every aspect of your life?” 
•Learning you can make a difference and stand up for what is right when the opportunity arises.

I am fortunate because it hasn't been very long since I have read the first book Counteract (you can check out my review here in my blog). I really enjoyed Counteract and was looking forward to Resist.
Miss Lawson did not disappoint! One of the things I like about this series is how Miss Lawson explores what can happen if the masses give up all liberties to the government-something that I feel is in progress in our world. And she does a great job of showing the horrors of becoming unthinking sheep being led to the slaughter.
Tommy and Careen are two strong characters that willingly put their lives on the line to save everyone. Do they succeed? Well, you'll just have to go get the books to get that question answered.

Resist is a journey through the intricacies of being part of a resistance. It is a journey through taking on a government so strong that the general population has given up all thinking for themselves to that government. Miss Lawson takes the reader into a world where a group of people are fighting for their own minds, the right to make their own decisions, and the right to be an individual. And it is an awesome, eye-opening journey.

You really need to take this journey!!

Can't wait for book 3 next year!!

Tracy Lawson is an award-winning author of two nonfiction books, and The Resistance Series is her first in the

world of young adult novels. Tracy lives in Dallas with her husband, daughter and three spoiled cats.
Tracy Lawson is an award-winning author of two nonfiction books, and The Resistance Series is her first in the world of young adult novels. Tracy lives in Dallas with her husband, daughter and three spoiled cats.

Let's see what Miss Lawson has to say in response to a few questions.

1. What was the inspiration behind The Resistance Series?
     I was mentoring a friend of my daughter’s when the initial idea for Counteract came about. Chase is a pretty sharp guy and an excellent writer—and when he was in high school I had a lot of fun working with him and editing some of his short stories. We had finished working on a story about baseball, a broken nose, and a broken heart, and were ready to start something new, when he suggested we write scenes in response to the prompt: “What if everyone were on LSD and all thoughts were communal?” It was certainly thought provoking! Chase created the characters Tommy and Eduardo, I created Careen, and right away, we knew we were onto something. Obviously, the story morphed and changed a lot before it became the finished version of Counteract—but that was how it all began.

2. What do you enjoy about this series that cannot be found in any of your other books?
     The Resistance Series is my first published fiction. My other book, Fips, Bots, Doggeries, and More, is based on a journal kept by my great-great-great grandfather during his family’s 1838 horse and wagon trip from Cincinnati to New York City.
      I did a ton of research before writing that book, and amassed two filing cabinet drawers full of information related to the 22-page journal! During the publication process, I nearly went crazy double-checking all my facts and citations, and by the time the book went to print, I never wanted to see another footnote. Fiction? Yes, please! Now that I’ve had a little break from footnotes, I’m enjoying writing another nonfiction history book. I’m planning to merge my two favorite genres and write some YA historical fiction sometime after I finish the Resistance Series.

3. What do you hope readers take away from this book?
      First and foremost, I want readers enjoy the story! I hope they relate to Tommy and Careen, and look forward to reading the next installment in the series. Books for young adults often reflect the reader’s need to question authority and rebel against the rules set down by older generations; the Resistance Series looks at what can happen when people surrender our civil liberties in exchange for the promise of safety and security.  I hope readers understand that protagonists in dystopian books are often branded as outcasts or rebels because they question the restrictive rules of their societies—and that individuals who change the world rarely do so by going along with the herd.

#ResistBlogTour        @TracySLawson   @prbythebook

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Nightwalker by Jacquelyn Frank


Keep reading to not only learn about the book, but to find the link to a giveaway!

Synopsis via Tasty Book Tours:
From New York Times bestselling author Jacquelyn Frank comes the final chapter in the Nightwalkers saga! As the momentous showdown with a powerful demon unfolds, a passionate encounter breaks the ultimate taboo.
Kamen is a Bodywalker, an ancient soul reborn in one human host after another. He’s also a prisoner of his own kind: for it was Kamen who released Apep, the deadly god who threatens the existence of their world. To atone for this grievous error, Kamen accepts an urgent mission: to convince the other nations of the Nightwalkers to set aside their centuries-old conflicts and band together. If he fails, all will be lost. And no tribe presents a greater challenge than the Wraiths, the spectral beings who are feared and despised for their lethal deathtouch.

Kamen makes first contact with a stunning, ghostly pale beauty named Geneviève. Part Wraith and part human, scorned as a half-breed, Viève shares the hunger for redemption—and for connection. Her scintillating touch holds the kiss of death, and yet it makes Kamen feel more alive than ever. Soon his lips are pressed against hers, sending Viève into fits of desire and forging a bond that breaches the divide between them. Now they must unite all the Nightwalkers, from Vampire and Shadowdweller to Djynns, and fast—for Apep is ready for war.

What can I say about Nightwalker? Um, it is freakin' awesome!! I had a hard time putting it down. I love the way Miss Frank combines her supernatural world with the contemporary world. She has a wonderful gift for weaving  so many intricate parts into one story. With Nightwalker, Miss Frank  combines 12 of her worlds together in one story. We get to see a glimpse of so many different characters. In essence, not only is it a single action packed story, but it is also a teaser for most of her other books. We get a little taste of her other characters. This wets your appetite for their whole story. And as I have read Forged, I can tell you that she will not disappoint. 
But, back to Kamen and Vieve. They are definitely not your typical couple. They are both struggling with their own "demons". But when they find each other and realize their attraction for each other, they find themselves in their own little bubble of acceptance. This is so much more than just a story about good versus evil and finding your true mate. If you look deep down you will find the undertone of the story of forgiveness, acceptance, and self esteem. I think that was as important to me as the love story. No, don't worry that it is one of those stories that preaches and preaches about self esteem. It is one of those stories where it all just falls into place.
Kamen and Vieve are character that you want to fall in love with and you want to root for. The action of the skirmishes and the big battle will keep you going as well as the interactions between all the individuals. The fact that Miss Frank has brought all 12 of her worlds together in one book makes it almost impossible for any part of the book to be boring. Yes, this is Kamen and Vieve's story, but all the other characters are an integral part of the plot.
If you have read any of Miss Frank's books, you really can't miss this one. If you haven't read any of her books, read this one as an introduction and then run to the bookstore and get some more!! 

Isabella Russ, known simply as Bella or Bella the Enforcer, had found herself living in New Mexico for the better part of seven months now. It was necessary for her to be there in order to work closely with Kamenwati, the Bodywalkers’ most learned man. So she had moved and, with great reluctance, brought her children to the compound as well. The god Apep knew where the compound was and had already made an attack on it. It was dangerous to have them there.
But living apart from them for days at a time? Unacceptable. She would not be a ghost in her children’s lives during the most important years of their development. True, Leah was ten now and more than capable of being independent of her mother for short stretches of time, but her son was not. He was just exiting his toddler years, having only recently learned all the basics of walking and potty training and other such milestones for a child of three going on four.
But she struggled constantly with the idea of them being potentially in the line of fire. Luckily their father was there and he had always been able to protect them. And several of their friends from the other Nightwalkers in the First Faction were there as well. There were Sagan and Valera, the former Shadowdweller priest and his natural Witch wife; Jasmine and Adam, the Vampire prince’s most trusted aide and her Demon husband; Windsong, one of the Mistral leaders; and Jinaeri, a Lycanthrope scholar.
Together it meant that every member of the First Faction was represented. As for the Second Faction, so far there were numerous Bodywalkers, a Night Angel named Faith and her human husband, Leo, who often acted as a translator and who came with some mercenary skills of his own. There was a Djynn named Kat and her Gargoyle husband—although the Gargoyles were not technically members of the Second Faction because they were the scions of the Bodywalkers. She’d learned that Gargoyles had been created by Templars to be used as slaves. Other than that, there was no representation of the Mysticals, no one from the Phoenixes and no one from the Wraiths . . . although to hear the Second Faction tell it, this was a good thing.
But Bella couldn’t escape the thought that they needed to have the Phoenixes and Mysticals there. As she got dressed for the night she thought about it more and more. If they were going to get out of this mess they needed all hands on deck.
An idea that was supported only an hour later when she met up with Kamen and he revealed his discovery, via Leo who was interpreting between the two.
“But if what you’re saying is true, then we have to get the Phoenixes and Mysticals on board. And the Wraiths.”
“We’ll have to do this without the Wraiths. Trust me, they are too deadly to be dealt with.”
“Well, we’ll have to deal with at least one of them according to this. I think it means we need a party of twelve to defeat Apep,” Bella said.
“Surely you aren’t thinking of sending just twelve people to fight a god?” Kamen was aghast.
“Of course not! But we have to have at least twelve. One from each nation. That means you have to make nice with a Wraith.”
Kamen thought about this a moment. “Then it seems it’s clear what we have to do here. We have to make contact with each of these groups and get representatives from each to come here.”
“And who are you going to get to do that?” Leo asked. “The last time we met up with Wraiths they almost killed Faith and me.”
“I don’t know, but someone has to try,” Kamen said.
“We should start with the Phoenixes and Mysticals first. Begin with the easy ones,” Bella said.
“Easy? We’ve been trying to contact them and get them to cooperate for months now. They aren’t all that interested,” Kamen said.
“Well then, we need to send someone to make it interesting for them,” Bella said.
Kamen grew quiet then said, “It should be me.”
“You? Why you? We need you here, researching how to break this curse.”
“I have to do this,” Kamen said firmly. “I have to do something other than study books. You can take over doing it just as easily as I can for now. Let me go to the courts of the other three Nightwalkers.”
“So you’re going to reach out to the Wraiths?”
“We have to at least try to approach them. They might surprise us.”
“Or they might kill you. No way. No way are you going alone. At the very least you should take Leo. He’s human and immune to their deathtouch.”
“Or so we believe,” Kamen retorted. “There’s no proof of that.”
“You can’t go alone. It would be suicide.”
“It’s homicide to risk more than one life . . . and it will look less threatening if one is sent as opposed to a cadre of Nightwalkers showing up on their doorstep.”
“He has a point,” Leo added. “One trained man can get in a lot better than six. I just don’t know if I’d call Kamen a trained man.”
“I can take care of myself,” Kamen said harshly. “I was second only to Odjit when it came to Templar power. I can keep the Wraiths off me long enough to get them to talk and I can escape more quickly than anyone else. It would be better if I didn’t have anyone else to worry about in the process.”
“I’m convinced,” Leo said. “I just don’t think you’re going to convince Jackson.”
“If you want to convince the leader of the Politic Bodywalkers to let you do this,” Bella said, “you better meet with him alone. There are too many people here who think the worst of you and will shoot you down before you can say boo about it.”
“I am aware of that,” Kamen said grimly. “But getting Jackson alone will not be an easy trick for me.”
“It would be for me,” Leo said. “He’s my best friend after all. If I ask him to meet me alone, he’ll come alone. Bella, you can stay here and work,” Leo said, indicating the mounds of books that had been brought into the library for her and Kamen to go through together.

She nodded and let them go. She crossed her fingers though. There were too many variables that made it a bad idea all around. But she had a feeling Kamen was going to convince Jackson . . . or die trying.

Author Info
Jacquelyn Frank is the New York Times bestselling author of the Immortal Brothers series (Cursed by Fire, Cursed by Ice, Bound by Sin, and Bound in Darkness), the World of Nightwalkers series (Forbidden, Forever, Forsaken, Forged, and Nightwalker), the Three Worlds series (Seduce Me in Dreams and Seduce Me in Flames), the Nightwalkers series (Adam, Jacob, Gideon, Elijah, Damien, and Noah), the Shadowdwellers novels (Ecstasy, Rapture, and Pleasure), and the Gatherers novels (Hunting Julian and Stealing Katherine). She lives in North Carolina and has been writing romantic fiction ever since she picked up her first teen romance at age thirteen. 

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Monday, August 3, 2015

Picture This by Marilyn Baxter

Picture This

Excerpt via


When it comes to relationships, Tess Callahan is gun-shy. An ambitious Atlanta divorce attorney, she’s seen the aftermath of relationships gone bad, which is why she has no time in her life for any man except for Nick Russo. Handsome and exciting, he’s the perfect choice to give her all she desires—including the fact he’s never around long enough for things to get complicated. Until suddenly they do.

Nick Russo has the world. His job as a photographer takes him everywhere, and he wouldn’t give that life up for anyone, not even the beautiful and brilliant Tess Callahan. Or so he thinks. An unexpected pregnancy is about to bring everything into focus, a brighter and more colorful world than he ever thought to imagine. The possibilities are endless, and they’re something he can capture not just on film but in reality.

I was introduced to Miss Baxter on a fluke. She posted a question that I answered and next thing I knew I was blessed with a invitation to read her newest book. And it was one of the best moves I have made in a long time.
Miss Baxter writes with a sincerity and pureness that can only come from the heart. This story is full of both sincerity and pureness, but it also has heart. This story will talk to the mother in every reader who has given birth. As a matter of fact, I found myself tearing up at portions of the story. But it will also talk to the romantic in any reader.
I like the way Miss Baxter developed Tess and Nick's relationship without going back years and dragging out the history. She explained it, described it, and brought the reader into it enough to understand it without bogging the story down with history and descriptions. Her introduction and character development of Nick was sincere and just right to engage the reader. The reader learned enough to fall in love with Nick, sympathize with Nick, but never developing a dislike for him. And the same can be said of her character development of Tess. Miss Baxter knows how to develop a character that involves the reader without bringing the animosity of the reader. It's all about falling in love with the characters and wanting them to succeed at whatever is going on in their "lives".
As a nurse, I really enjoyed that Miss Baxter sis her research for the medical portion of the story. It can be very distracting to me to read incorrect medical parts of a story. 
Picture This is a feel good, "see it through" story that you won't be able to put down. So pick it up and check out out! You will be glad you did. 
For me, I have a new author to add to my favorites!

I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Miss Baxter for this opportunity.

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Point Blank (Lawmen Series #4)

Point Blank

Synopsis via CheyenneMcCray,com

A free spirit with a zest for life, Natasha Simpson loves her new beginning in the small town of Bisbee, Arizona. Things couldn't get any better.

Special Agent Brooks Allen is pissed as hell when he learns that one of his friend's in-laws is suspected of drug trafficking. Big time. She's been selling merchandise that's filled with illegal narcotics.

Natasha runs into Brooks, and enjoys the company of the man who works with her cousin's husband. And damn, but he's hot.

When Natasha accidentally makes the discovery that her products contain cocaine, not only is her life threatened, but every member of her family is in danger.

Brooks grows certain Natasha is innocent, then discovers the tangled web she's caught in. Along the way he loses his heart to her—now he just needs to make sure he doesn't lose her...permanently.

So, have you read any of Miss McCray's heart pounding, keep you up all night because you have to "read just one more page" books? Do you like HOT men of the law? Do you like strong willed, sassy women who give the hunky, alpha male a run for his money, not to mention a good dose of frustration? Well, you have GOT to check out Miss McCray's Lawmen series. Point Blank may be #4. but each story can be read as a stand alone and this one is a great place to start!

Tasha is an art lover who now owns a store where she sells art and souvenirs in the small AZ town of Bisbee. She goes to sell her art at seller shows throughout the states periodically where she is unknowingly transporting and selling cocaine in some of her art. This is where Special Agent Brooks Allen enters the scene. He is tasked with investigating Tasha. But in doing so he must keep his best friend, family to Tasha, out of the loop.
This isn't the first time Tasha and Brooks have met. But this is the first time they have been able to spend any time together. What can danger, physical attraction, and drugs combined create? One hell of a story!
As in all of her contemporary romances set in southeast AZ, Miss McCray describes the area with flourish. Her descriptions help the reader to create an accurate, detailed picture of where the story takes place. And since I am from Southeastern AZ and have been to the places she describes, I can tell you she is dead on with the descriptions and the beauty.
I love how Miss McCray took this story to different settings. She sets up the romantic heat almost from the beginning, but doesn't climax there (please forgive the unintended pun). The reader is never left hanging looking for the story to pick up. There is always something going on that keeps the reader wanting to read just one more page and then realizing it's either way too late in the night or they have read half the book.
Let's talk a little about Brooks. He is a drool-worthy, hot, sexy, strong, "I'd do him" lawman. Brooks is the type of cop most women want to protect them. He is honest, sincere, caring, loyal, and an orgasm in a cowboy hat!
I honestly can't say there was anything in this book that I did not like. I read this late into the night and started up again as soon as I got up the next day.

Miss McCray delivers again! She knows the pulse of her readers and will go the extra mile to make sure she gives us what we love and want to read.
This is another MUST READ!!

I received a free copy of the book in return for an honest review. Thank you Miss McCray for this opportunity.

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Dark Embrace by Angie Sandro

Congratulations to Monica Madrid from Arizona. 
She won the e-copy of Dark Embrace.  
Rescued from the brink of death by her cousin Mala, Dena Acker returns to the land of the living with a terrifying gift. Still connected to the darkness that almost claimed her, she can tell when someone's about to die--but there's nothing she can do to save them. Desperate to rid herself of this cursed ability, Dena has only one  chance at peace . . . and two very different men willing to rescue her.

For centuries, Ashmael has seen more souls than he can count but he's never been drawn to anyone the way he is to fragile, beautiful Dena. She fills the dark void of his days with light, and he would sacrifice anything - even his immortality - to cross over to her world and ease her suffering. But he can't afford to be discovered by police detective Michael Anders, who is investigating the deaths that surround Dena. While Michael fights his growing attraction to her, the evidence still points to Dena as the killer. Both men have the ability to save Dena from her horrible fate, but which one can she trust with her darkest secrets?

My review: 
Angie Sandro has done it again! She has brought the bayous of Louisiana into our homes. She has brought magic to our lives. Enriching us with a way of life that is mostly passed down to scare kids into doing what they are told. She introduced us to Dena in Dark Redemption. But now we are pulled into her life feet first.
What is it like to be pulled from death's clutches? How is a person supposed to cope when things start going all hinky? But most of all, what is a girl to do when she is torn between a sexy detective with whom she has a strange connection, and a dark cloud that has connected itself to her emotionally?
Dena is a strong-willed young lady who has no clue about how her cousin brought her back from the dead. She is trying to help prevent people from dying while Detective Ackers is trying to prevent her from being killed.
Miss Sandro keeps the action going full tilt throughout the book. There is never a dull moment. She weaves intrigue, suspense, Hoo-Doo, zombies, and ties it all in with her previous novels. We get to see Mala back as well as learning all about Dena.
This is a book that you will NOT be able to put down. Make sure you have everything you need at your side, the kids are at grandma's, and the hubby is out with the guys because you will want to read this in one sitting.
You see, Miss Sandro weaves a little magic into her stories. She casts a spell that you can't break. But that's okay, you won't want to break that spell. But you will be left begging for more!!

About Angie Sandro
Angie Sandro was born at Whiteman Air Force Base in Missouri. Within six weeks, she began the first of eleven relocations throughout the United States, Spain, and Guam before the age of eighteen.

Friends were left behind. The only constants in her life were her family and the books she shipped wherever she went. Traveling the world inspired her imagination and allowed her to create her own imaginary friends. Visits to her father's family in Louisiana inspired this story.

Angie now lives in Northern California with her husband, two children, and an overweight Labrador.

Because I loved Dark Embrace so much, I am able to give away 1 e-book of Dark Embrace. (US and Canada residents only please). The winner will be chosen randomly.  The contest will run from today, 7/16/2015 to 7/21/2015 (Central Time). No purchase necessary to enter. Just leave a comment on this post. I will announce the winner on my Blog on 7/22/2015 (Central Time). The winner will have 7 days to message me and give me their e-book address.

Saturday, July 11, 2015

Counteract (The resistance Series #1) by Tracy Lawson

I received a copy of the book in return for an honest review. Thank you to PR by the Book, Alessandra Wike, and Miss Lawson for this opportunity.

Synopsis via

Careen survived a terrorist’s bomb when she was a kid, and now the threat of a chemical weapons attack is literally hanging over her head. She takes the antidote offered by the government, but is unprepared for the side effects, which cause her to hallucinate, affect her memory, and derail her from her university studies. Her erratic behavior attracts the attention of a young law enforcement officer, who mistakenly pegs her as a dissident and pursues her, hoping she’ll make contact with a known resistance group. Careen doesn’t realize the antidote is causing her confusion…until she runs out on the day of the anticipated attack.

Tommy, recuperating from injuries sustained in a recent auto accident, is unaware that there’s a link between that accident, which killed his parents, and the chemical weapons attack that threatens him now. The antidote plagues him with hallucinations of tragedy and loss, and sends him spiraling into despair. When he discovers that working out before he takes his dose helps him feel more like himself, he defies the rules to regain his strength and his sanity. On the day of the “attack”, he meets Careen, who just might be the girl of his dreams, and tries to save her by sharing his last dose with her, even though doing so could potentially hasten his own death.

What Careen and Tommy learn about the true nature of the terrorist threat spurs them to take action, and their decisions lead them to run afoul of local law enforcement, team up with that underground resistance group, and ultimately take their quest for the truth to the highest reaches of the United States government.

How do I explain this book? For me, I can't do it without getting a little political. That being said, I am not one to push my beliefs on anyone. I will only say just enough to explain how I see the book.

The premise is one that we are actually beginning to see play out in our own politics here in the US. We are beginning to see a government telling us what is best for us, what we should and will start feeding our own children, We are being told who we can and can not sell to as business owners. For me, it hit me in the middle of my chest and deep in my intellectual mind.
Miss Lawson has created a society where the government is already controlling every aspect of the populace's lives. While some may consider that utopia, after all, the majority of the populace is on equal footing. They get the same amount of food. They are able to buy clothing at all the same stores, their food is sent directly to their homes, and terrorist attacks are controlled by the government not allowing public gatherings like concerts and sporting events. Everything is watched on television. But wait, it is actually starting to sound like a dystopian world in reality. Sometimes things look great on paper and in reality turn out to be a real nightmare.
Well, that is what Miss Lawson's story is all about. It's about a world where the government tells you what is best for you. A world where the power has totally corrupted the uppermost echelon. Of course there is a resistance. But it is really about two "sheep" who have realized they are being led to the slaughter and begin their journey to help bring this corruption down.
But Miss Lawson's story is a subtle inch worm working you through each page. You don't realize how much you really want to know what happens next until you realize it is two o'clock in the morning and you need to get up early the next day.
Careen and Tommy are two very different characters who begin to learn how to trust not only each other, but themselves for the first time. While they are learning about the true plans of the government, they are actually learning how to think for themselves. Miss Lawson is so adept at writing, that as I read I found myself becoming Careen and Tommy. I felt the wonder of learning that I could think for myself, the fear that I would actually be caught and killed for thinking for myself, but also the wonder of seeing everything new again. The simple act of processing what is going on around me and deciding on my own how to deal with it all was all brand new through Careen and Tommy's points of view.
I am anxious to see what Miss Lawson has in store for Tommy and Careen in the next book, Resist, due out in a little over 3 weeks.
Lovers of YA and Dystopian reads: this is a book you HAVE GOT to check out!